Tags

Bitch, I’m back, by popular demand.

Since it is now more important than ever to shout out and sing out, I’m back again with my favorite singles of the year. My music listening was fairly erratic this year, so it is perhaps no surprise that I bought very few songs from the same album, though I’d like to give a huge shout-out to Queen Bey for the glorious Lemonade.

In fact, let’s start out by getting in formation, shall we?

Best in Beyoncé: Beyoncé, “Formation” (Lemonade). Yeah, I’ll never tire of this one. And I have no doubt I will need it in the days to come.

Best in Bluegrass: Marlon Williams, “Hello Miss Lonesome” (Marlon Williams). Alt-country by way of New Zealand.

Best in Boston: Honeysuckle, “It’s Getting Late” (Honeysuckle). I just can’t seem to get enough banjos lately.

Best in Blossoming: Lucy Dacus, “I Don’t Want to Be Funny Anymore” (No Burden). An incredible song about breaking out of the box you’ve been put in.

Best in Binary: John K. Samson, “PostDoc Blues” (Winter Wheat). Oh, Mr. Samson (aka the frontman of The Weakerthans), you had me at PowerPoint.

Best in Boyfriends: Margaret Glaspy, “Emotions and Math” (Emotions and Math). Normally this category is something the Math Greek has sent me during the year. This year, however, it’s a long-distance dedication from me to the MG. “Keep your feet on the ground, and keep reaching for the stars.”

Best in Brians: The Gift featuring Brian Eno, “Love Without Violins” (EP). A lesson in how to build a song from the ground up and gradually reel in the listener layer by layer.

Best in Bumming Around: Fialta, “Do the Best We Can” (Shadow of a Drought). As a Californian by adoption, the lyrics of this song really resonated, especially “shadow of a drought.”

Best in Borealis: Zeds Dead, “Too Young” (Northern Lights). I’m not a big fan of electronic music in general, but I couldn’t resist this one for some reason.

Best in Birds and Bees: The Monkees, “You Bring the Summer” (Good Times). Absolutely infectious. The perfect summer song.

Best in Brash: Lizzo, “Good as Hell” (Coconut Oil). A real pick-me-up for when you need an extra boost of confidence.

Baby, how you feelin’?

Best in Bounce: Sylvan Esso, “Radio” (Single). Like their “H.S.K.T.” (from my 2014 round-up), “Radio” is a bouncy number whose catchiness belies its lyrics.

Best in the Bay (Chesapeake edition): Maggie Rogers, “Alaska” (Single). I look forward to hearing a complete album from this viral sensation. In any case, this is a great start.

Best in the Bay (Oaktown edition): Fantastic Negrito, “Working Poor” (The Last Days of Oakland). I have a feeling I’m going to be significantly adding to my blues collection in the upcoming years.

Best in Beats: The Roots, “My Shot (Rise Up Remix)” (The Hamilton Mixtape). Just when you thought Hamilton couldn’t get any better.

Speaking of rising up… regardless of what any election results might suggest, black lives still matter and women’s rights are human rights. Sorry, haters.

#Resist

* Note to email subscribers, there is embedded video in this post that may not appear in your email. Please click through to the actual post to see the complete list of selections.

