Tags

Moments of clarity are so rare, I better document this.

—Björk, “Stonemilker”

Music_Tame Impala

While I finish up documenting my favorite books and operatic moments of 2015 (I know, I know! But, hey, it’s still January…), I wanted to follow up on my annual music round-up with a few gems I seem to have missed during the year.

I found these while going through iTunes and cleaning out old episodes of the All Songs Considered podcast, especially the year-end “listeners pick their favorite album” episode. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

Best in Bridges: Leon Bridges, “Coming Home” (Coming Home). How did I miss this reincarnation of Sam Cooke? Love this entire album.

Best in Brits: Jamie xx feat. Romy, “Loud Places” (In Colour). Is it me or does this sound remarkably like Everything But The Girl?

Best in Boats: Florence + The Machine, “Ship to Wreck” (How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful). We’ve all been there, Florence, we’ve all been there.

Best in B-A-N-A-N-A-S: Tame Impala, “The Less I Know The Better” (Currents). The video is extremely creative to say the least, but the hook is irresistible.

Best in Björk: Björk, “Stonemilker” (Vulnicura). I am generally not a fan of Björk, but you know I can’t resist a good cello.

Best in Bedtime: Joan Shelley, “Easy Now” (Over and Even). This video of Joan Shelley’s Tiny Desk Concert for NPR has a number of songs from her latest album, but “Easy Now” (the first one) is my favorite.

