Tags

,

And the Oscar goes to…

gravity poster

You may be wondering why I haven’t been doing my traditional Oscar Blitz posts. One reason is that I’ve been busy with work, but the main one is that, having seen six of the nine films nominated for Best Picture (American Hustle, Captain Phillips, Dallas Buyers Club, Gravity, Her, and 12 Years a Slave), I’m fairly uninspired by this crop of movies.

Gravity was an incredible theater experience, and 12 Years a Slave is certainly an important film, but I’m not sure I’d call either a “great” film. Of course, the Oscars often aren’t about great films, so I suppose this is nothing new. However, this year, I did see a number of films that weren’t nominated for anything but that I’d recommend over most of the films below. I will be posting about them later in the year.

With that said, and based on what I’ve seen (the only movie listed below that I have not seen is Nebraska), here is what or who I would like to see win tonight, in order of preference within each category.

Best Picture
Gravity
12 Years a Slave
Her

Directing
Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity)
Steve McQueen (12 Years a Slave)
Alexander Payne (Nebraska)

Adapted Screenplay
Before Midnight
12 Years a Slave
Captain Phillips

Original Screenplay
Her
Dallas Buyers Club
American Hustle

Actor in a Leading Role
Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years a Slave)
Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)
Bruce Dern (Nebraska)

Actor in a Supporting Role
Barkhad Abdi (Captain Phillips)
Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)
Michael Fassbender (12 Years a Slave)

Actress in a Leading Role
Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)
Sandra Bullock (Gravity)
Amy Adams (American Hustle)

Actress in a Supporting Role
Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave)
Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine)
Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)

Cinematography
Roger A. Deakins (Prisoners)
Bruno Delbonnel (Inside Llewyn Davis)
Emmanuel Lubezki (Gravity)

Film Editing
Gravity
Captain Phillips
12 Years a Slave

Costume Design
The Great Gatsby
12 Years a Slave
American Hustle

Production Design
Her
The Great Gatsby
12 Years a Slave

Sound Editing
All Is Lost
Gravity
Captain Phillips

Sound Mixing
Inside Llewyn Davis
Gravity
Captain Phillips

Visual Effects
Gravity

Documentary Feature
The Square
20 Feet from Stardom
The Act of Killing

Animated Short Film
Mr. Hublot
Get a Horse!
Feral

Live Action Short Film
Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything)
Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)
The Voorman Problem

Oscar Statues

Who would you like to see take home one of these golden boys?

