Tags

I was reading this post over at Movie Morlocks and got to thinking about personal taste. I couldn’t helped but be reminded of a boyfriend who was always saying “You will love this!” when what he really meant was “I love this, so of course you will too!” without really thinking about me and what I might like. While I agree that it’s great to be able to share what you love, does it need to be everything? I’m supposed to be good at math, but is there some sort of transitive property of love that I’m missing?

Normally, I might dismiss this as some sort of guy thing (and this actually is a point covered in that dating classic Men Are from Mars…), but recently, on Twitter, I stumbled onto a conversation among women about people who give 1- or 2-star reviews to books you love, and the rage or disappointment said reaction causes. I guess I didn’t realize that people took personal taste so, well, personally. Have I inadvertently closed myself off to all those lovers of Kubrick, Woolf, and/or Jonathan Miller out there? I mean, if you are reading this blog, you probably know I’m not afraid to state my opinion. Should I be?

This is not to say I don’t judge people on their general taste. Believe me, I do. And I’m happier to hang out with people who are curious about the broader things I like (books, movies, etc.); however, I can’t imagine expecting someone else to love one particular book, or movie, or piece of music as much as I do. In fact, I think half the fun of relationships of all kinds is the challenge of “getting” someone, figuring out the puzzle that is their taste. The guy that took the trouble to ask a mutual friend about my taste and then found an art house showing of North by Northwest for our first date? Well, he started way ahead of the game, even if he had hated it.

So, I ask you, readers, is there some love of yours that people in your life, particularly a significant other, must share? Have you ever ended a relationship of any kind over taste? In short, do you have a love litmus test?

