Tags

,

While I wait for a Netflix glitch to be resolved so that I can complete the Lubitsch screenings for my first screwball post, I thought I would share one of the cocktail recipes I created for the Oscars. Although I didn’t particularly enjoy it on the night, once I tinkered with the ingredients and proportions, I decided it was a keeper.

pink

I came up with The Silk Rose to honor Argo, Life of Pi, and Zero Dark Thirty, which all take place in countries along the Silk Road, the network of trade routes across Asia. The drink itself is inspired by the Rose Water Fizz in Victoria Moore’s How to Drink, but with slightly different proportions and homemade grenadine instead of sugar to have another “Silk Road” ingredient in there. Plus the pomegranate gives it a lovely pink color to go with its name.

The Silk Rose
1/4 oz rose water
1/2 oz lemon juice
1/2 oz grenadine
1 1/2 oz gin
6 oz club soda, or to taste

For the grenadine, I used the recipe in Dale DeGroff’s The Essential Cocktail, which uses rich simple syrup at a 2:1 ratio, so 1 cup pomegranate juice, 1 cup sugar, and 1/2 cup water per batch.

This drink is refreshing with or without the gin, but the rose flavor is very strong so it’s not for everyone.

