Tags

,

Yes, it’s true, I finally read another one of my challenge books.

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro was not one of the top vote-getters in my original poll, but I added it to the list because one of the Salonistas read it for our Disturbing Dystopias book salon and it sounded interesting.

Of course, this meant I was somewhat spoiled for the plot, which was unfortunate, since knowing the basic premise going in significantly lessened the impact of the book. For that reason, this review is going to be quite short, as I don’t want to do any spoiling myself.

Although the intriguing premise is revealed quite early, it is revealed in bits and pieces, and the mysterious tone of the book had me hoping there was a lot more to come. I kept waiting for something to happen, yet nothing really did.

While I liked the characters and the settings, I never really felt emotionally connected to them. This is perhaps because the narrator herself seems rather detached from both the people and events surrounding her. I think this is a big reason why the novel fell flat for me.

I’m glad I read it, and I can certainly understand why it works for some people, but for me it was very middle-of-the-road.

I guess it just wasn’t meant to be.

I keep thinking about this river somewhere, with the water moving really fast. And these two people in the water, trying to hold onto each other, holding on as hard as they can, but in the end it’s just too much. The current’s too strong. They’ve got to let go, drift apart. That’s how it is with us.

