Tags

The Top 16 in “The Here and After” by Tyce Diorio

At the start of this week’s opening number, I had a hard time pegging the choreographer. The music made me think it might be a Mia Michaels or Wade Robson number, but as it progressed I knew it couldn’t be either. I should have guessed that the disappointing choreography meant it was Tyce Diorio. Loved the look though.

Tiffany & George in “Out Of My Mind” (Hip Hop, Nappy Tabs): While I hated the look of this piece, at least the dancing felt more like hip hop than the usual Nappy Tabs fare. And I thought Tiffany and George both did quite well with it.

Amber & Brandon in “Dr. Feelgood” by Ray Leeper

Amber & Brandon in “Dr. Feelgood” (Jazz, Ray Leeper): This was sexy, if trying a bit too hard. I’m sorry that we won’t be seeing more of this couple (as they were both eliminated based on last week’s vote).

Janelle & Dareian in “Call Me Maybe” (Cha-Cha, Pasha Kovalev): I was really hoping to get through 2012 without hearing this song, but alas, it was not to be. Damn you, Pasha. Even worse, this was the first of two lackluster ballroom numbers. Side note: Janelle must have quite a strong fan base since she didn’t land in the bottom three after her disappointing turn last week. It will be interesting to see if she survives this yawn-inducing cha-cha.

Lindsay & Cole in “Wild Horses” (Contemporary, Mandy Moore): Good lord, of all the possible covers of this Rolling Stones classic, you choose Charlotte Martin? Oh Mandy, never change. This was typical hair-flinging lyrical, but Cole still rocked it out. And Nigel was right, great lighting.

Amelia & Will in “You!” by Mandy Moore

Amelia & Will in “You!” (Jazz, Mandy Moore): This was just okay, although it was nice to see something in a more classical jazz style. I like these two but they are now the only couple who has not had ballroom. They need a challenge, and we are due for a quickstep.

Audrey & Matthew in “Cinco Salsa” by Liz Lira

Audrey & Matthew in “Cinco Salsa” (Salsa, Liz Lira): Hey girl, even in this ridiculous outfit, I look fabulous. The dance however did not. Yawn.

Witney & Chehon in “I Will Always Love You” by Stacey Tookey

Witney & Chehon in “I Will Always Love You” (Contemporary, Stacey Tookey): This was beautiful, but were they off the music in spots? It seemed like it. Yet I still liked it, even with the cheesy music. The choreography was tailor-made for Chehon’s ballet training and Witney is growing on me. I actually like her more out of her style.

Eliana & Cyrus in “Toxic” by Napoleon & Tabitha

Eliana & Cyrus in “Toxic” (Hip Hop, Nappy Tabs): This was the dance of the night. I’ve written before of my love of the “Doll in the Music Box” number from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, so you shouldn’t be surprised I liked this one. Nappy Tabs made good use of the strengths of both dancers here. I still think Cyrus needs to go, but I doubt he will after this one.

I’d predict Janelle & Dareian, but I really have no idea who will be in the bottom three at this point. I do know it’s annoying we have to wait until August 15th for the results.

Probable DVD Candidates:
Amber & Brandon in “Dr. Feelgood”
Lindsay & Cole in “Wild Horses”
Witney & Chehon in “I Will Always Love You”
Eliana & Cyrus in “Toxic”
Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater in “The Hunt”

Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater in “The Hunt”

Final note: Perhaps a bit too effusive at times, but otherwise, good judging, Christina Applegate!

