Tags

I continue to think that there are just too many singers on this show and, at the same, that they are disappearing too quickly. I guess it’s good that one doesn’t have to be tortured week after week by the lesser contestants, but I still feel like we haven’t seen what many of these people are capable of.

And, while I’m liking the new audience/judges save aspect of the eliminations, I still think these later rounds would be better served by an X-Factor type of elimination based on audience vote. So what if that results in uneven teams—isn’t that the point of picking teams in the first place?

Of course, I did notice that all four audience saves were men so maybe leaving it entirely up to the audience might not be the best idea.

The Performances:

RaeLynn: “She’s Country” by Jason Aldean (Team Blake). I’m not a country fan, but RaeLynn always seems to be trying too hard. I still wish the unfortunately named Adley Stump had won that long-ago battle.

Jesse Campbell: “Halo” by Beyoncé (Team Christina). With more gravitas, this song choice might have worked, but it didn’t. Instead, it just sounded screechy to me. Also, the staging with framed photos of his daughter was ridiculous—I really don’t care if your daughter is your “halo,” just sing.

Jordis Unga: “A Little Bit Stronger” by Sara Evans (Team Blake). I guess I’m happy it wasn’t Mariah or Whitney or some other power singer, but this type of song does nothing for me.

Ashley De La Rosa: “Foolish Games” by Jewel (Team Christina). Yay, another song I’ve never heard! Not that that means anything since I’m pretty spotty on contemporary pop music, but I think that in a reality show dependent on audience votes you are always better off singing something fairly well known, even if overused.

Erin Willett: “Set Fire to the Rain” by Adele (Team Blake). As stupid as the lyrics to this song are, Erin knocked it out of the park. She so deserved to be saved by the audience instead of having to perform for her life.

Lindsey Pavao: “Part of Me” by Katy Perry (Team Christina). Is it me or does this song have no tune? Lindsey is one of my favorites, but I think she’s lucky she got through this week.

Jermaine Paul: “Against All Odds” by Phil Collins (Team Blake). Does Jermaine Paul think he’s competing for Best 80s Cover Singer? First Bon Jovi and now this? Jermaine, in the future, please sing something that wasn’t played at my prom. He got through, so either he is benefitting from the guy factor, or people like Phil Collins way more than I thought.

Chris Mann: “Viva la Vida” by Coldplay (Team Christina). I thought this was a really interesting choice for him, although I can’t hear Coldplay on a reality show without imaging myself watching with my former housemate and hearing him rag on Chris Martin’s voice. Mann is definitely the best male singer in this competition.

Jamar Rogers: “It’s My Life” by Jon Bon Jovi (Team Cee Lo). He’s good, but I am already tired of him and his “inspiring story of recovery and redemption”—yet I had no doubt that that narrative would mean he would get the audience save.

Katrina Parker: “Jar of Hearts” by Christina Perri (Team Adam). I’ve liked this song since it premiered back in 2010 on So You Think You Can Dance. I think it was a good choice for her, but this is one person I’d like to see go more retro. Side note: I love when Adam has his eyes closed listening to his performers. Glad he saved her in the end.

Mathai: “I’m Like a Bird” by Nelly Furtado (Team Adam). I’ve made no secret that I have issues with Mathai’s singing style and lack of enunciation; however, I thought this was actually her best performance. This is one where I think, had there been no audience save, Adam would have taken her and Katrina into the final.

James Massone: “Just the Way You Are” by Billy Joel (Team Cee Lo). Although he’s still way out of his league, I thought this was a good choice for him and he has shown much improvement over the past few weeks. Also? Still adorable.

Tony Lucca: “Baby One More Time” by Britney Spears (Team Adam). I’m not a Tony Lucca fan, but at least this was a popular, fun song done in a different way. And, I swear, if I never hear Alicia Keys or the Mickey Mouse Club mentioned again this season, it won’t be too soon.

Cheesa: “I Have Nothing” by Whitney Houston (Team Cee Lo). Cheesa is not the power singer everyone seems to think she is, but she did a decent job with Whitney, so kudos for that.

Pip: “Somewhere Only We Know” by Keane (Team Adam). Pip was an early favorite for me and I thought he really redeemed himself after last week’s disaster. The opening bars at the piano were really well done and, upon replay, the ending didn’t seem as bad as I first thought. I’d still rather have him than Tony Lucca.

Juliet Simms: “Cryin’” by Aerosmith (Team Cee Lo). Oh, Cee Lo, why are you trying to make Juliet jump on the crazy train? Are you that devastated over the loss of Erin? Feathers aside, Juliet did very well on a song choice that was a bit lackluster after her “Roxanne” performance.

The Results:

Eliminated by their coach on performance night: Jesse Campbell, Jordis Unga, James Massone, Pip

Saved by the audience: Jermaine Paul, Chris Mann, Jamar Rogers, Tony Lucca

Saved by their coach: Erin Willett, Lindsey Pavao, Katrina Parker, Juliet Simms

Eliminated by their coach on results night: RaeLynn, Ashley De La Rosa, Mathai, Cheesa

The Awards:

Favorite performance: Erin Willett, “Set Fire to the Rain”

Most predictable performance: RaeLynn, “She’s Country”

Most pandering performance: Jesse Campbell, “Halo”

Favorite song choice: Pip, “Somewhere Only We Know”

Worst song choice: Lindsey Pavao, “Part of Me”

Hot Tub Time Machine Award: Jermaine Paul, “Against All Odds”

Best in Feathers: Juliet Simms, “Cryin’”

Top three I’m rooting for: Chris Mann (Team Christina), Lindsey Pavao (Team Christina), Juliet Simms (Team Cee Lo)

Have your favorites made it through?

