Tags

To celebrate National Parks Week, I revisited my trip around the Grand Circle in October 2008, which started and ended in Las Vegas, Nevada, taking in five national parks and Monument Valley along the way. Click on the links below to read about these parks in more detail at Worth the Detour.

First up was Zion National Park.

The Court of the Patriarchs at Zion: Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob

The Court of the Patriarchs at Zion: Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob

Then came Bryce Canyon, a personal favorite.

On the Navajo Loop Trail at Bryce Canyon National Park

On the Navajo Loop Trail at Bryce Canyon National Park

After Bryce was the biggest surprise of the trip, Capitol Reef National Park.

Heading into the Grand Wash Canyon at Capitol Reef National Park

Heading into the Grand Wash Canyon at Capitol Reef National Park

And then, of course, came the iconic Arches National Park.

The enormous Double Arch at Arches National Park

The enormous Double Arch at Arches National Park

I paid homage to my father’s love of westerns at Monument Valley.

West Mitten Butte at sunset in Monument Valley

West Mitten Butte at sunset in Monument Valley

And finally completed the Grand Circle with the mother of all canyons.

Watch out, the bighorn sheep in the Grand Canyon can be tricksy!

Watch out, the bighorn sheep in the Grand Canyon can be tricksy!

All in all, it was a fabulous road trip that I heartily recommend.

Do you have a favorite national park? If so, let me know in the comments below, I’m looking to plan my next trip!

